Gun × Sword

Gun Sword (ガン × ソード GUN×SWORD), is a Japanese animated television series produced by AIC A.S.T.A. The story is set on the “Planet of Endless Illusion”, a place where rogues of all sorts gather. The protagonist, Van, travels the world searching for a man with a clawed right hand who killed his bride. He is joined by several other travelers along the way, each linked to the clawed man by a personal loss. The series aired on TV Tokyo from July 4, 2005 to December 26 of the same year, totaling 26 episodes.

Van, a lanky and apathetic swordsman, is on a journey to kill the murderer of his fiancé. The only characteristic he has to go by is that the murderer has a claw for an arm, hence the murderer being referred to as The Claw Man. During his travels, Van happens to pass through the city of Evergreen, which is defending itself from bandits who aim to rob the city of its treasury. It is in this city that Van meets Wendy Garret, a timid young girl who is looking for her kidnapped brother. When the city pleads for Van’s assistance to defend it, he refuses, claiming it has nothing to do with him and thus leaves the city on its own to deal with the peril.

Soon after, Van comes across the raiding bandits himself and they eventually tick off the swordsman to a degree where he takes action against them for his own personal vendetta. Surprisingly, Van learns that the bandits had ties with The Claw Man, and in kidnapping Wendy’s brother for a reason they did not disclose. After the bandits are dealt with easily, Van and, much to his chagrin, Wendy continue the journey in search of The Claw Man. Little do they know, however, that The Claw Man is involved with something more atrocious than either could fathom.

Opening theme
“GUNXSWORD” by Kōtarō Nakagawa

Ending themes
“A Rising Tide” by Shuntarō Okino
Ep #9 & #11: “Paradiso” by Hitomi
Ep #22: “A Rising Tide” (acoustic version) by Shuntaro Okino
Ep #24: “Calling You” by Shuntaro Okino (episode 24)
Ep #26: “GUNXSWORD” (starting again) by Kotaro Nakagawa and Ondekoza (episode 26)

Insert songs
Ep #03: “Niji no Kanata” by Satsuki Yukino
Ep #15 & #25: “La Speranza” by Hitomi
Original Soundtrack: Vol.1 / Vol.2